Home / About YPAC / History

History of the YPAC

When the participating students of this year’s Youth Parliament to the Alpine Convention get together in Liechtenstein this coming March to discuss the best measures to save energy, they can look back on six years of this transnational event.

The YPAC was founded by Akademisches Gymnasium Innsbruck in 2006, in cooperation with the Alpine Convention and the Permanent Secretariat and supported by the Austrian Lebensministerium. The successful concept, largely developed by teachers Irmgard Sennhofer and Claudia Rauchegger, allows students of the Alpine countries to discuss and propose sustainable solutions for current topics of the Alpine regions.

After a successful beginning with six participating schools, the project was expanded and currently includes ten participating schools (two each from Italy, Slovenia and Germany; and one each from Austria, Liechtenstein, Switzerland and France). Each year, a different school hosts the YPAC and adds a local touch to the event.

  • 2006    Innsbruck (A)
  • 2007    Innsbruck (A)
  • 2008    Maribor (SI)
  • 2009    Meran (I)
  • 2010    Rosenheim (D)
  • 2011    Trogen/Herisau (CH)
  • 2012    Vaduz (LI)

Thanks to the stable structure of the YPAC and also thanks to the aid of CIPRA, which has actively supported the YPAC since 2011, the parliamentary simulation has continuously improved. This is especially shown in the quality of the resolutions and the high level of the discussions in the committees and the general assembly. It is therefore not surprising that the participating students and teachers are motivated for further collaboration: Plans have already been made up until the year 2014 in Chamonix.


Document Actions